Northwest Kiteboarding
Forum | Classifieds | Lost & Found | CGKA | Industry | Sensors | Forecast | Spots | Seattle | Decals | RSS | Facebook

Events | Photos | Search | Register | Profile | Log in to check your messages | Log in 

CDA/North Idaho Kiters

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Northwest Kiteboarding -> Gorge / Portland / Oregon Coast
previous topic :: next topic  
TheNomad

Since 12 Apr 2014
6 Posts

Kook

PostSun Apr 13, 14 8:30 pm    CDA/North Idaho Kiters Reply with quote

Hello-

I am very new to kiting and would like to meet up with CDA/North Idaho kiters. I have purchased and used a Slingshot B2 trainer kite and have yet to purchase any other gear. Due to life circumstances, I cannot go to the Gorge. (wife and kids) I am looking to learn this fun and exciting sport locally.

Best regards,

TheNomad

harriet

Since 10 Jun 2007
64 Posts

PostMon Apr 14, 14 9:54 am     Reply with quote

Short answer is rethink your decision.
Heres the long answer;
This is not an easy place to kite at, let alone safe to learn. A tree lined beach with onshore, gusty winds, concrete walls, rocks, fences, people everywhere and a postage stamp sized launchsite is not as fun as it sounds. Wink
I have seen accomplised kiters not be able to get off the beach here, let alone seen anyone learn to kite here safely. Cant be done safely imo.
The lulls to gust ratio can be brutal. 7knots at the beach, 20 out on the lake sometimes. Lol
Brutal for learning imo. If not deadly.
Back in the day I could understand someone trying to teach themselves here, as there was little info on why someone wouldnt.
But times have changed, good lessons are available just hours away, and there is no reason to risk your safety, or risk others while you are being tossed around by a kite.
I know you said you cant travel, but you should. At least for lessons, ie; make progress going upwind, self resue, launch solo, etc.