Northwest Kiteboarding
Forum | Classifieds | Lost & Found | CGKA | Industry | Sensors | Forecast | Spots | Seattle | Decals | RSS | Facebook

Events | Photos | Search | Register | Profile | Log in to check your messages | Log in 

Foot straps or boots?

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Northwest Kiteboarding -> Gorge / Portland / Oregon Coast
previous topic :: next topic  
jbruxer

Since 24 Jul 2005
398 Posts
Beaverton, OR
Obsessed

PostWed Feb 15, 06 9:50 am    Foot straps or boots? Reply with quote

Alright, I need some advice. I have been wakeboarding and snowboarding for many years, and have gotten very used to the boot style binding setup. So, when I took up kiteboarding last year, I am having difficulties in keeping a proper board edge because I am so use to different bindings. So, my question is, what is the down side to using one binding style over the other? Also, is it better/easier to learn with just foot straps? Confused

Kataku2k3

Since 14 Aug 2005
3753 Posts
Los Angeles, CA
Videographer

PostWed Feb 15, 06 10:06 am     Reply with quote

I've always used straps so I sorta have a bias towards them. To me, I like the board to be as light as possible (straps lighter than bindings), along with the cleaner, more low-profile look. Straps may take awhile in getting used to (when you think you need your foot locked in to the board like no other), but you'll learn that's not the case at all. This is for the same reason you can ride a board (surf, skim, etc.) with NO straps/bindings. Then again, if you're more comfortable with bindings, then why change what you like? Just my $0.02, that's probably not even worth your time in reading! Wink

Inept_Fun

Since 14 Apr 2005
1417 Posts
Hood River
XTreme Poster

PostWed Feb 15, 06 1:09 pm     Reply with quote

Alright so depending on how you are rideing i can offer you just a couple pieces of advice...