Northwest Kiteboarding
Forum | Classifieds | Lost & Found | CGKA | Industry | Sensors | Forecast | Spots | Seattle | Decals | RSS | Facebook

Events | Photos | Search | Register | Profile | Log in to check your messages | Log in 

Tragedy turns to Euphoria

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Northwest Kiteboarding -> Gorge / Portland / Oregon Coast
previous topic :: next topic  
dangler

Since 26 Feb 2006
1742 Posts
WINDY SPOTS
XTreme Poster

PostSat Jul 24, 21 9:04 pm    Tragedy turns to Euphoria Reply with quote

Late afternoon wing ssession in Stevenson went pearshaped when my wing leash failed and my wing flew away. I was way downwind from where I started (total beginner) when I got my longest ride to date, halfway across the river. Thats when I lose my wing. LONG paddle in, hired Joe the kiter to go look on his jet ski, no luck cuz the Sternwheeler had already picked it up.(they cruised past me while I was paddling) Thanks to Joe and Martin for the help and THANKS TO THE STERNWHEELER CREW

Wind Slither

Since 04 Mar 2005
2570 Posts
The 503
METAL

PostSun Jul 25, 21 7:10 am     Reply with quote

Nice D!

Did it come back un harmed? Someone told me recently the Sternwheeler uses a mechanical grabber to get stuff out of the river and it left teeth marks on their board.

dangler

Since 26 Feb 2006
1742 Posts
WINDY SPOTS
XTreme Poster

PostSun Jul 25, 21 9:04 am    whaaa? Reply with quote

The Sternwheeler kiosk opens at 10'30 so going now to pick it up. Martin talked to them last nite and told me "they treated it like a man overboard drill" so I hope that doesn't involve the "jaws of life" and my NEW Slingywingy survived! Gotta get back to it as I have considerable case of "FOIL BRAIN"

Justsmile

Since 20 Jul 2009
1523 Posts
Not Portland
XTreme Poster

PostSun Jul 25, 21 11:48 am     Reply with quote