Northwest Kiteboarding
Forum | Classifieds | Lost & Found | CGKA | Industry | Sensors | Forecast | Spots | Seattle | Decals | RSS | Facebook

Events | Photos | Search | Register | Profile | Log in to check your messages | Log in 

OT: Subaru Service in The Gorge?

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Northwest Kiteboarding -> Gorge / Portland / Oregon Coast
previous topic :: next topic  
deminimis

Since 15 Jul 2014
326 Posts
On the Rocks
Obsessed

PostTue Jun 28, 16 11:45 am    OT: Subaru Service in The Gorge? Reply with quote

I seem to be making a lot of these OT threads lately (unfortunately). Had a head gasket failure on the wife's Outback this weekend. When I lived in HR in the early 90's, there was a Subaru guru in HR, but I can't recall his name and I doubt he's still around. Greentree seems to be the go-to place now for Subi work, but I have no experience with them. Any recommendations in Hood River, The Dalles or even over in White Salmon /Goldendale? Tonkin is not an option (they still use the same failure-prone gaskets). Don't really have the time or interest in doing it myself (plus my shop is full with other projects). Thanks.

Pepi

Since 16 Jun 2006
1831 Posts
Pure Stoke Sports
Shop Owner

CGKA Member

PostTue Jun 28, 16 12:16 pm     Reply with quote

Paco was the Subaru Guru. He passed away last year.

Jim at 'Marks Automotive' in White Salmon is a good guy to go to.

You get what you pay for and you will pay for (and receive) quality work.

www.Purestokesports.com

deminimis

Since 15 Jul 2014
326 Posts
On the Rocks
Obsessed

PostTue Jun 28, 16 12:22 pm     Reply with quote

Thanks. Bummer though. Thanks for the lead too.

ldhr

Since 21 Jul 2009
1472 Posts
Hood River
XTreme Poster

PostTue Jun 28, 16 12:38 pm     Reply with quote

2 places in HR are reasonable and 100% trust worthy.
Taylor Automotive next to the bowling alley.
The 2nd place is Shade Tree - they have shops in HR and WS.
They specialize in older Subarus. They're awesome!

deminimis