Northwest Kiteboarding
Forum | Classifieds | Lost & Found | CGKA | Industry | Sensors | Forecast | Spots | Seattle | Decals | RSS | Facebook

Events | Photos | Search | Register | Profile | Log in to check your messages | Log in 

First Foil Rig Recommendation

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Northwest Kiteboarding -> Gorge / Portland / Oregon Coast
previous topic :: next topic  
Kmun

Since 05 Jul 2009
250 Posts

Obsessed

PostWed Sep 19, 18 9:48 am    First Foil Rig Recommendation Reply with quote

Total beginner never-ever foiler here coming from a 6m kite Gorge swell riding background.

I have a Dwarfcraft 4'6" and debating my foil options.

I am considering learning on the Infinity 76 or Space Skate 65 with the flight school masts. I am leaning heavily toward the Infinity 76 because of reported slower lift speeds, higher glide speed tolerance and potential to keep it long term as a boat/wake skate toy (even if I evolve to a lighter weight, more specialized kite foil rig).

I know this is a clunky heavy foil rig but think the modular, durability & slow speed lift could allow the graduated learning curve without the learners face-plant violence from the long monocoque long masts of Lyft or SS GW 2.0 91 - 633.

1. Please impart your advise on the above plan.

2. Compare your experiences between the Infinity 76 or Space Skate 65.

ldhr

Since 21 Jul 2009
1470 Posts
Hood River
XTreme Poster

PostWed Sep 19, 18 10:02 am     Reply with quote

I came from the same background as you.
I'm a believer in the Slingshot system for learning.
I used the graduated length masts and followed the advice in the Flight school videos.... learning to foil was easy peasy.
In the beginner/intermediate stage - the weight of the foil only matters when you're carrying it around. As soon as you're in the water - it's not an issue.
Ask around at the beach - you should be able to borrow or buy used the smaller masts (15, 24).